Car Radiator + heater Core water cooling?

Aleko

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2007
Im a complete noob at water cooling i'v only read a few posts about it. I'v got a Copper Car Radiator and Heater Core from my dads old car he is throwing away. Is it a good idea to use the Car Radiator? I dont mind the size.

Also im thinking of using both. I want to put the radiator a few meters away from the PC and the heater Core on the case and fans only on the Heater Core. Is it a good idea to use both or there is no point in doing this?

What im thinking is because my Car Radiator is at some distance from the PC water will heat in the tubes going to the PC so a heater core at the PC will cool it too.

Will be Cooling CPU, NB and GPU.

Loop: Pump>Car Rad>Heater Core>CPU>NB>GPU>Pump

Some AC Pump i dont know how powerful pump to get? What specs?
:?

vertigo_2000

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2007
I've never watercooled before in my life. I know nothing of watercooling a PC, but this just seems a little out there.

Maybe it's just me. 8O

Aleko

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2007
I've never watercooled before in my life. I know nothing of watercooling a PC, but this just seems a little out there.

Maybe it's just me. 8O

haha well it might be... iv heard of people using Car Rads before but never Car Rad + Heater Core or 2 Car Rads :lol:

vertigo_2000

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2007
What kind of pump is being used? I would think those watercooling systems have some kind of PSI limitation. Not a car one I assume. :lol:

Major_Trouble

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2007
I nearly peed myself laughing when I 1st read the post but then got thinking maybe it's not a bad way to go. I don't think it would look nice at all and you would have a bit of a problem moving the PC about but the cooling potential would be awsome.

Just use the cars water pump and cooling fan to complete the build and you're good to go. Vrooom

cb62fcni

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2006