Sign in with
Your question

LAN not working, Wireless working fine (D-Link DGL-4300 router)

Last response: in Networking
March 11, 2008 3:08:45 PM

Hey

I got a D-Link DGL-4300 router with the latest firmware: 1.8.

The wireless and the connection to the internet is working great, but when i plug in a LAN connection it gets an IP, but the connection is limited (according to WinXP) and I can't even connect to the router or the internet through a LAN connection.

I'm not an expert with router settings, but i'm not completely lost either.

The wireless connection on my laptop, stops working when I'm also plugging in a LAN connection to it.

The Router is not directly connected to a modem, but it's connected to a larger network, because i'm sharing internet with alot of other people, but I'm 99% sure that it's the router that contains the problem.

___/ Router Settings \____
Router IP Address : [192.168.0.1]
Subnet Mask : [255.255.255.0]
Local Domain Name : [ ] (optional)
Enable DNS Relay : [x]

___/ DHCP Server Settings \____
Enable DHCP Server : [x]
DHCP IP Address Range : [192.168.0.2] - [192.168.0.99]
DHCP Lease Time : [1440] minutes
Always broadcast : [x] (compatibility for some DHCP Clients)
NetBIOS Advertisement : [ ]

I have tried to set the DNS server to 192.168.0.1 on the PC after I connecet it to LAN, and I have tried to give it a static IP, but nothing works.

So please help me get my LAN connection on my router to work.
March 11, 2008 4:59:46 PM

Whats the ip address the router is getting from the rest of the network?
Post an IPconfig /all here for us to look at.

If you take the cable that is plugged into the router that comes from the rest of the network and plug it into a computer what happens? IP address, network connection, etc...
March 11, 2008 7:02:04 PM

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : graversen
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No