Out of the game #2

marmotjr

Distinguished
May 8, 2007
I Read through rootb33r's thread a bit, and while my story is similar (Ie, worked in a computer store for a while, building and repairing hundreds of machines, Mainly 95 & 98 models. Now I've been a paramedic for 8 years, so i fix people and not computers anymore, and just due to ease, have been buying dells, but now I want to build my own so I can upgrade it easily later), it's different enough to need a new thread. I have the parts on the way, so asking for comments on specs is a little counter productive (unless you find a major issue). But anyways heres a basic runown of what I got. If anybody is realy interested, PM me and I'll hit you with the newegg wishlist link.

C2D E6300 Conroe 1.8g
4g Ram (512 x 4)
500gb hdd (250 WD caviar x 2 in RAID 0)
GeForce 256M 7600GT (SLI)
WinXP

What I really have is a couple questions floating around in my brain on assembly tips and tricks.

For example:

1) When building a 95/98 machine back in the day, it was usually best to copy the entire system CDROM to c:/win95 and install from there to cut the build time from >2 hours to <1 hour. IS this still a viable option or has the ROM/CPU/etc Speeds gotten to the point to make this useless?

2) SATA? Never used it. Not familiar with it. Pointers please.

3) RAID 0? I understand the theory behind it, but I've never dealt with it. Again, pointers please.

4) XP vs Vista. I didn't seem too comfortable with the reports of compatibility of older prgrams in Vista, so I decided to purchase a new copy of XP (keeping all my old machines, so I needed a new serial). Is it worth waiting for a while before upgrading to vista?

5) SLI. One of my OLD machines had the SLI ancestor, the one with the cable out the back connecting the two cards, so I'm familiar with the concept. But the new SLI, can you run 4 monitors off of the 2 cards? or are you stuck with 2?