Sign in with
Your question

Core Temp 0.95 inaccurate core temperature readings?

Last response: in Overclocking
July 2, 2007 8:53:58 AM

Hi I'm new to overclocking and i'm trying to understand what my Tcase/Core temps are at.

Current Build: C2D E6400, Zalman CNPS9500, Asus P5N32e SLI plus, Antec 500w Neo HE psu, 2x1024mb Gskill DDR2-800, Asus 8800 gts 320mb

overclocked to 2.67ghz w/ ram at 667mhz

Core Temp .95 says my core temperatures are at about 68C while SpeedFan says they are at 53C.

RightMark CPU utility agrees w/ SpeedFan and says the cores are at 51C.

Nvidia Monitor agrees w/ SpeedFan on the Tcase temperature which is 58C.

has anyone had any problems w/ the readings from Core Temp (+15C). I know there is a sticky by GraySky that says SpeedFan is off by -15C but I cross check the Tcase temp which is 58C!

*temps are all during Orthos testing

any advice or information will be greatly appreciated, thanks!
July 3, 2007 3:18:43 PM

Nas,

After reading this thread AND all the Intel documents referenced in it, I have come to feel that CoreTemp is the way to read C2D temps and that talking about actual (as opposed to relative) temperatures on the C2D processors is to some extent meaningless and to a larger extent unnecessary. I'd highly advise you read through this and learn about the C2D Thermal Control Circuits and Digital Temperature Sensor. It'll take a few hours, but I found it worth it.

I'll try to clarify how I understood things if you have specific questions.

Regards,
Jeff
July 3, 2007 3:20:22 PM

Grrrr my link didn't work. Here is the link.
Related resources
July 4, 2007 12:17:52 AM

Quote:
has anyone had any problems w/ the readings from Core Temp (+15C). I know there is a sticky by GraySky that says SpeedFan is off by -15C but I cross check the Tcase temp which is 58C!

Well, Speedfan is off by 15 °C on a quad. I think it *should* detect the temps on a E6xxx okay since their constant is 85 whereas the quads use a constant of 100.