advice for noob on card for graphics

Robert_01

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2007
Hi

i am a noob when it comes to computers and i dont know much about them, i want to build a PC so i could play some games my friends helped me with most of the parts now i need a card for graphics, they recomended Nvidia 8800GTX something, will this be enough to play games, to be honest i will most likely play one game (2d fighting game called melty blood) will one of these card be enough they said i could put in 2 of them..

The_Abyss

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2006
Some friends...

Best thing to do is to tell us:

- your budget
- a more comprehensive list of other games you play (if any)
- the rest of your system specs
- the resolution you game at
- whether you do anything else with your PC (i.e. HTPC use etc)

From the very sketchy info you've given so far, an 8800GTX is likely to be extreme overkill.

Robert_01

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2007
Ram 2 of OCZ2N1066SR2GK
Hard disk 150 gigabyte Western digital Raptor
Processor Core 2 Extreme
mother board GiGa byte GA-P35-DQ6
did i miss something?

well the budget doesnt mater very much, i just dont want to play games good,i dont want to look for parts or have my friends look for me because mine is not good
by resolution u mean screen thing?? i am not very sure...
i might watch video and listen to music on the computer but mostly play games

morerevs

Distinguished
May 19, 2007
If you're going to get an 8800 GTX for 2D games it would be like shooting a nuke to kill a little bunny :D . It's basically at the top of the list as far as videocards go ( besides an overpriced ultra). You're going to want a sturdy powersupply for it aswell, which is one part you haven't listed.
As for resolution, what monitor do you have? LCD, CRT, 19", 20",22"? By giving us these specs we should be able to determine what res you're likely to be on.