HD2900XT xfire up to 3x faster than 8800GTX sli under Vista

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Windows Vista
  • SLI
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 4, 2007 10:36:07 AM

There has to be some truth to this... "the 2900s almost triple the performance of the 8800 system at 2560x1600 in Company of Heroes, with PC Mag bods quoting 84 FPS for the 2900s and 32 FPS for the SLI rig"

http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=40770

I am not technical enough to know the exact reason that the HD2900Xt's scale so well, memory bandwidth, double bandwidth of the xfire bridge, better drivers for vista etc, but it's good :) 

It's good to see the tables being turned on the Nvidia team, a more balanced market is what we all need.. But the HD2900XT are going to show some real future potential, as Vista and super high res displays are the future.

More about : hd2900xt xfire faster 8800gtx sli vista

July 4, 2007 11:07:34 AM

Top INQ Stories
1. DAAMIT seeds ninja 2900 rig
2. Huge energy company tells staff to dress scruffily
3. Exploding mobile phone battery kills welder
4. Microsoft file format pot calls file format kettle black
5. Iphone cracked in three days

Need I say more?
a b U Graphics card
July 4, 2007 11:16:32 AM

Have you seen annands lately? They have a story on it also. All true
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a b U Graphics card
July 4, 2007 11:22:24 AM

From the first word and benches on the 2900 DailyTech http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=7864 Take it for what its worth, as Ive already seen some of these a month ago. Didnt say anything then, as Im sure no right thinking fan would believe me.
a b U Graphics card
July 4, 2007 11:26:28 AM

Quote: