genec57

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2006
Yesterday I received my new Seasonic M12 600-watt PSU. With great anticipation I proceeded to install. All went well until I turned on the power - Nothing - dead, dead, dead.

I started unplugging components to discover the grounding culprit - disconnected everything and still dead - reattached my old, still good, thermaltake with the same result.

Next I removed the mobo and attached the power lines outside the case. The PSU came alive, the cooler fan spun up but no boot. Same for both PSUs. Time to RMA the eVGA 680i mobo.

This morning just for grins I decided to do more tests and pluged my case fans and three hdds into the Seasonic. Fans and cooling pump came up. My two Raptors 74s were good but the Maxtor attached to the same SATA line literally smoked. Arghhhh!

Too much for coincidence. The seasonic is RMAed as well as the HDD and the mobo. I have been working on and building PCs for 16 years and have never seen or heard of a power supply doing this - especially one the quality of Seasonic. Unless this is just a bizarre chain of coincidences I have to blame the PSU.

Anyone else had a similar experience?

one_dollar

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2007
They can't check every psu for problems, not thoroughly anyway, so these things are bound to happen even to the best and most reputable companies' power supplies (and other hardware).

Dahak

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006
Sorry to hear about your board and PSU.However,even good quality name brand PSU can have a case of bad power supplies.Antec,one of the leaders for PSU reliability,had a batch of psu that kept blowing up not long after they were being used.Within a few weeks I believe it was.My point being that everyone has a bad day once in awhile.Just try try again.Goodluck,I hope your system gets up and running soon.

Dahak

AMD X2 5600+ @ 2.8ghz(stock)
M2N32-SLI DELUXE MB
2 GIGS DDR2 800 RAM
THERMALTAKE 850WATT PSU
7950 GX2 560/1450
ACER 22IN. LCD
SMILIDON RAIDMAX GAMING CASE