ASI's IQ17-D2: Is Mobility Radeon HD 3870 X2 Still Fast Enough?

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

i have a 3870 x2 and its still rocking the new games great!
1920 x 1200 resolutions run smoothly,
i just have to tone the antialaising to like 2x or off on a few games like re5

doomtomb

Distinguished
May 12, 2009
Eurocom had some awesome performance but the power consumption is scary. You can't be away from an outlet for more than 45 minutes.

curnel_D

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2007
I'm an ASI partner, and I've been reselling these laptops since 2005. Most of their lineup are Brandless Compal (second largest OEM notebook supplier) notebooks. Not many score real high in the looks department, but the quality and durability is head and shoulders above the competition.

melvis72

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2009
I'd like to see a review on an Alienware M17x with Dual 280's or Dual 4870's just to see if all the money wasted is fast or not.

liquidsnake718

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2009
Not bad, I wouldnt get a laptop for gaming. Just get a mobile gaming device like a psp or dsi. I would rather play with a regular laptop than spend on a crazy laptop when I can just buy a ps3 or even build another great PC for that insane price. Crysis, COD5, STALKER and Fallout arent meant to be played with Laptops anyway on their max settings. You can play these in low or medium settings which is fine but I would never expect the world with even these mobile beasts.

Ehsan w

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2009
I suggest Ati drops whatever they have now, and start working on the mobility 5xxx series
Since the desktop versions already don't use a lot of power
but gives really good performance, they could totally rape Nvidia in a year

LATTEH

Distinguished
Nov 19, 2008
i still have a 3850 it still runs pretty strong (good enough for me to play the games i like) but with the 5xxx series i think it may be time to upgrade

G

I care less about performance on notebook drives.