First time builder needs advice and any help you can spare

1Wolf

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2007
Greetings :)

I've been lurking on these forums and reading (and reading, and reading, and reading, and reading ;) ) for some time now. This is my first post to ask for some help and advice.

I'm a first time builder, and in the process of preparing my 'shopping' list for my first build. I've been researching this for quite some time now trying to make sure I get this right. I seem to be getting a little hung-up on 'cooling' though and am having some problems deciding the right cooling solution for my build.

So I figured maybe I'd give you guys all the information I could about my build...and see if anyone could offer some advice (in case some of my build choices were bad choices) and help me determine the cooling solution that will suit my needs and situation.

So here goes...

As I mentioned, this is my first build so I've been learning and researching for weeks now. I'm a gamer (granted...an old gamer...but a gamer nonetheless ;) ). I started out by building some 'sample' systems from the various boutique builders (i.e. Alienware, ABS, Velocity Micro, etc.) and then used those 'sample' builds as a guide. Then I started researching parts here on Tom's Hardware, other review sites, user reviews from NewEgg (Which are useful, but I've learned to take with a grain of salt), etc.