Upgrading slowly from P4

Raz

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2007
Hi all. Some advice required please by a UK (complete newbie) who knows nothing about overclocking, etc (yet!)...

I currently have a 3 year old system including the following...

P4 3.0 GHz with HTT
Abit IC7-G mobo (socket 478 whatever that means!!)
512 Crucial Ram DDR400
QBit 650W PSU
GeForce Ti-4200 with AGP 8x
(Running XP Pro SP2)

I was about to add 2 Gig of DDR400 RAM and buy a 7600GT GPU (now tempted by X1950Pro due to minor price difference). Would then have to upgrade/replace for Core 2 Duo at a later stage (12-18 months maybe).

I'm now considering upgrading the mobo as well in preparation for Core 2 Duo so that I can upgrade step by step - is that a good idea??

I'm looking for a mobo that will work well with my existing CPU, but allow me to upgrade to PCI-e and DDR2 (if you thinks that's worth it). I figure that I'm going to end up going that way sooner or later so may as well get there systematically rather than having to fork out loads later - plus the savings on PCI-e components (like GPU) might help offset the additional cost of replacing mobo now). Problem is, can I find a decent mobo that will work with this CPU and then also be good for Core 2 Duo later. As I said, it needs to provide PCI-e and ideally DDR2. I've seen a few that provide PCI-e but only DDR which means the mobo would still need replacing at some stage.

Just to make things that little bit trickier, I'm playing with a small budget (ideally approx £200)

Would eventually like to start tweaking/overclocking a little - but have a hell of a lot to learn before then!!

Cheers everyone - btw, if you think I'm better off waiting and just doing bare minimum now then please do say because I'm not definite on either course of action yet.

Mondoman

Splendid