Sign in with
Your question

Crossfire Question

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 12, 2007 5:17:02 AM

I am currently thinking of purchasing 2 HD 2600xt and running them in crossfire configuration. I also run multiple monitors. Does enabling crossfire disable any video outputs on either video card. I though I read something to this effect in the past but it was referring to the old external dongle crossfire, and I wasn't sure if it applied to the newer internal crossfire setup. Also the main reason I chose this card is because of how well it handles HD video. Would the crossfire configuration help or hinder this in any way. I have never dealt with a multi-GPU setup before so I have no first hand experience on the matter so any input would be greatly appreciated.

More about : crossfire question

July 12, 2007 5:32:34 AM

u cant use multiple monitors in crossfire it is meant to do 1 display but if you dont crossfire you can use up to 4.
July 12, 2007 7:36:35 AM

Hi romstar do you know how this works for twin gpu cards as i know that the gemini version of the 2600xt has 4 outputs on it and it seems to me to be the answer for the op as i cant see them putting them on for the sake of it
Mactronix
Related resources
July 12, 2007 10:05:42 AM

im going to take a stab and say you can, as long as you only use the dvi out on the first card, also, you can run multi monitors on a sli or crossfire setup, it just requires some effort, what you do it you get one of them matrox thingys plug your multi monitors into it, plug it into a single dvi on your card, install the drivers, and you card thinks it is only one monitor thingy and will allow you to do cf on them.
July 12, 2007 10:40:41 AM

from the AMD website;
" 8. Can I use the CrossFire platform to drive multiple displays?

A. Yes, the CrossFire platform will work with ATI’s SurroundView™ multi-monitor technology to enable up to 5 separate displays when not running in CrossFire mode."