Updating AGP card - Need Urgent Help

Raz

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2007
Hi all. Please forgive my ignorance but I am very new to this sort of thing and really need some help - urgently if possible because I'd like to get things ordered today/tomorrow.

My current set-up is:

P4 3.0GHz
Abit IC7 mobo
512 RAM DDR 400
GeForce Ti4200 with AGP 8x
Q-Tec 650 Triple Fan PSU

I was about to buy 2Gig of additional DDR 400 and upgrade the GPU. Based on the reviews and very useful "Best Video Cards for the Money" thread I am stuck between the 7600GT and the X1950Pro. I want to make this 3.5 yr old system more up-to-date for gaming and general home use.

But now I realise that PCI Express components are often (it seems) cheaper so I'm wondering whether to upgrade motherboard/processor entirely? But on a budget!

Thing is, I know very little about these things so what do I do? Upgrade to entry-level Core 2 with appropriate mobo, RAM and GPU...
OR...
just stick with the original plan and save up for a full upgrade in 12-18 months (in which case, which card)?

All help gratefully received!

Since you need to do it so soon, you are going to miss out on some great price breaks for intel CPU's.

Therefor, you need to consider 2 things: Does this computer do what you want and will it do what you want if you put a better video card in it?

Problem is, if you upgrade now, nothing with transfer over to a new build in a year. But that is no big deal if your machine does what it needs to do is it?

If your PSU can handle the x1950pro, and that video card is what you need to do what you want, the get it. There is a big difference between that card and the 7600, so dont waist money on the feeling of "better", because that is an expensive thought.

Secondly, memory. If you do not have Windows 64bit, more then 2gigs will be a waste. Keep that in mind.

Raz

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2007
Ok that helps - thanks.