ram faster than 1:1 wasted if don't oc?

foruga1

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2007
I'm new to this, but if I want to build a system with the e6850, then, if I'm not mistaken, dual channel ddr2 667 gives a 1:1 ratio between the cpu and memory busses.

I've seen some reviews where faster ram gave at least some boost in performance. I don't know if they overclocked the cpu to 'catch up' with the faster ram.

I hope this isn't a silly question, but...

without any overclocking, would I see any speed increase in combining the e6850 with ddr2-1066 instead of ddr2-667?

It seems that the theoretical formula suggests that in the e6850 + ddr2-1066 combo, the cpu is the bottleneck.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, and explanations are appreciated.

You can frame answers relative to any of the standard types of benchmarks.

Mondoman

Splendid
The main thing is to have *at least* a 1:1 ratio, so the memory bus's throughput is not less than the capacity of the CPU's FSB. You're right that RAM running at DDR2-667 will saturate the throughput of a 1333MHz FSB.
You will likely see a few percent increase from using faster RAM -- it's your decision on what's worthwhile.

Kari

Splendid
Or you could drop the multiplier on the proc and use higher fsb to take full advantage of the faster memory while keeping the proc close to the stock speed...
well maybe not full advantage, 1066 would need a fsb of 533, and that might be too much for the motherboard to keep up, or the proc for that matter

foruga1

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2007
Thanks for replys.

kari: thanks for the info. but the point is to keep the cpu & ram at stock. given that I have no oc experience (yet) I can't justify any risk, my first build will be too important. I will keep your info in mind for future though. The only thing I can really justify is setting the board to accept 1066, like you have to do on some of the asus, gigabyte, and evga mobos.