That was scary, what did I do wrong?

spuddyt

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2007
Ok I just attempted my first ever overclock of my cpu, which is an amd x2 4200 because i'm not that confident I used the program clockgen and changed it so that the CPU said 2422 (before it was 2214) and the FSB said 220 (before it was 201) now i'm a noob and so I had no idea what those meant and so to test it for stability I ran oblivion thinking I could do the multiply items glitch and have it thinking about several hundred wine bottles' physics however I never reached that stage because I got a BSOD on the loading screen for it and so I must ask, what did I do wrong? (I probably messed everything up but i'd still like to know) pls explain in N00B terms

menetlaus

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2007
People don't always reply within 30 min of a post, deal with it.

Or when someone asks for Noob advice in a forum that has a sticky called "A newbie’s guide to Overclocking an Athlon XP CPU"... you might be waiting a while for someone to help you out.

You might also want to read the P4 and Core 2 Duo/Quad guides if your stuck on something in the Athlon one. The basics to Overclocking is the same regardless if you have AMD or Intel-Inside so any of the basic guides will help you get started.

Also, see how I use paragraphs, commas, and even periods. They make a post so much easier to follow, so if you want someone to take the time to help you, it doesn't hurt to make it easier for them.

Disclamer: My AMD/Intel overclocking comment was directed at the beginner overclocker - and thus related to things like: Vcore, Heat production, FSB, and CPU multipliers. Not extreme OC-ing, but that isn't covered in those guides anyways.

Zeraphine

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2007
Hey spuddyt what happned to ur system can mean a lot of things...first of