I want to build a new gaming rig in September, but...

asdftt123

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2007
...should I wait? I'm asking because I hear there's quite a few anticipated releases in terms of CPU's and GPU's in the near future. I want this computer to be a high range rig that will last me for years to come because I don't have the funds to purchase parts for upgrades or a new rig as I'm a college student. Currently, with the available parts today I was thinking of making a system similar to this in Sept:

Core 2 Quad Q6600
nVidia GeForce 8800GTX 768MB
2GB RAM
Vista 64 bit

I'm wondering if there are any schedule releases or price drops (other than Q6600) for any video cards or processors in the next couple of months. Does nVidia have a general release date for their 9000 line and is ATI planning anything new as well? Also, with the price drop of the Quad cores, is Intel planning on bring a new series of CPU's to the market and is AMD doing anything to fight back? Also, would you say this is a good time to start researching for building a new rig or should I wait for something better to hit the market? How do the next couple of months look for the PC community?

I guess the bottom line is, should I bother waiting a bit longer for new releases or price drops or should I send in an order in September for the system I have listed? Will the system fit a $1600 budget (will need monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers)? Also, should I got 64 or 32 bit Vista? Would you recommend 4gb RAM for 64 bit? Thanks a lot.

emp

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2004
Go for 64-bit for SURE, and about the ram, not really sure, depends if you can make it fit in your budget without sacrificing any of the other components since 2GB will work fine.

So far we only have no other price cuts coming that I'm aware of and only rumors and speculations as to when new products will be released (and all of these rumors pointing to the end of the year)