Whatever program you use to burn DVDs you should always check off that option to verify the burn.
But one time even after selecting "Verify" I got a bad burn. How did I know? I always try to access some of the content after the burn has been verified.
Call me paranoid and there's no way to recover data from a bad burn. At least none that I know of.