Sign in with
Your question

a modification of a tom's hardware and ars technica rig

Last response: in Systems
July 19, 2007 3:19:24 AM

Hi, I'd like to build a new computer this summer and wanted to see what you guys thought of my build so far. I'm a moderately experienced builder (~ four years) but have recently stopped following up on the latest technologies. Here's what I want to do with it, and I think it will work:

Dual-boot Windows XP (and eventually Vista) and Ubuntu 7.04
Use Compiz Fusion and Beryl (the graphical goodness!) in Ubuntu
Game decently in DX10
Have the possibility to upgrade gfx to SLI (hence the mobo).

The specs didn't load properly so here we go:
EDIT:
-MSI P965 Platinum LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
-EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
-Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6600 - Retail
-Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KHX6400D2K2/2G - Retail
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
-Sony NEC Optiarc 18X DVD±R DVD Burner with 12X DVD-RAM Write Black SATA Model AD-7170S-0B - OEM

Thanks for any assistance you guys can provide.
July 19, 2007 5:43:13 AM

yup
Related resources
July 19, 2007 10:54:52 AM

Oh good idea, this hasn't even crossed my mind!
July 19, 2007 11:13:37 AM

Do not get the Sony NEC Optiarc drives!!! they dont work in Vista. trust me I have one and wish I hadnt bought it. I have Vista 64, it refused to install on it, and after using another drive to install, it barely works and crashes the machine sometimes when it is used. And there are no drivers for it (only firmware).

get a phillips, an LG, or a Liteon.
July 19, 2007 12:15:11 PM