8800 GTS vs X1950XT

shyam

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2007
Hi,

Soon having a new computer built and trying to decide on graphics card, I've cut it down to two cards 8800 GTS or the VX950XT (not sure whether Sapphire or Gecube is better)

I'm not much of a gamer, but am a big movie fan, so I want movies as best as possible. I will play a few games, but hardly, but when I do I still want graphics to be pretty good!

I'm not good with all the techy terms, so just as basic as possible please..

Nvidia have purevideo, and ATI have Avivo ..

Look forward to advice, thanks!

shyam

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2007

Are you saying X1950XT is better for movies, or that it is just as good and not worth spending more for 8800GTS?

How good is X1950XT for games then? And is it DirectX10 compatible?

fredthegalv

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2007
Definatley get the 8800GTS. There are many advantages over the X1950XT. For starters, the 8800GTS (and all of the nvidia 8000 series are directx 10 graphics cards cards so supports loads of cool stuff like shader model 4.0 and HDCP (High Definition Content Protection - which may not be particularly "cool" but WILL allow you to watch all the HD movies you want (sadly though, you will need an HDCP compliant monitor!). Basically when you upgrade to Vista the 8800 will be future proof and therefore fully compatible. When you play games with the 8800 you will get amazing effects like full High Dynamic Range lighting (HDR) and amazing water and particle effects with Shader model 4.0 (or 3.0 with directx 9.0c). Hope that was of some help to you in your choice!

shyam

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2007
Well, clearly the 8800GTS is better for games.. But is it better for movies too? Or are they just as good as each other with movies..

How good is X1950Xt for movies?

shyam

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2007
Yes talking HD, I'll be using a Samsung SM206BW, which is HDCP compatible.. So I will be downloading a lot of HD movies..