help! painfully slow!!!! and i can't decide

spuddyt

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2007
I've never used the forum before so bear with me if i make a heinous mistake but I really need to know the answer to this question:
recently I bought an 8600 gts (without reading any reviews) and it seems to be struggling already without even getting into directx 10 and so im wondering.... I may be getting another couple of hundred quid before long and so I must ask Should I upgrade to an 8800 gts/gtx (gts more likely amount of money)

I am currently running 2gb ram and a socket 939 amd x2 4200 on a fairly old motherboard

I would suggest getting the cheapest 8800 GTS (640 or 320) possible if the 8600 is too slow. You should see a huge increase since you have a pretty good system otherwise. I would suggest first, though, making sure you have the newest drivers, cleaning up the comp (physically and software wise) and maybe even reinstalling windows. If it still is too slow, 8800 it is. Check the GPU charts on this site to see what type of improvement to expect.

This all depends on a few things. What games do you run? Are you happy with how your current card performs, and lastly, buying now might not be the best thing to do. The reasoning is, the next generation DX10 cards will be coming out by the end of the year, they are said to be much more DX10 compliant and will give a better experience on DX10 and presumably DX9 as well. That being said, if your current card plays current games within respectable framerates, eyecandy (AA,AF etc) then my advice to you would be to wait til next gen, if not, then maybe even waiting a lil bit longer to see what the upper mid-lower high releases might bring, whenever these cards are to be released, no one knows. Otherwise, depending on your resolution, the GTS is a fine card. The 320 will handle anything up to 16x10 over that and youll want the 640mb

spuddyt

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2007