8800gts with an asverage of 15-20 fps

jonj

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2007
i just started playing games on my new gaming pc with my 640mb 8800 gts. i notices a lag while playing bf2. i ran 3dmark06 and my score was 4934, and the cpu tests were at 0 fps. during the graphic tests my fps was only abouy 15(except on deep freeze it was a constant 22fps). at the end it said that my processor(p4 @3.0ghz) is the 7th slowest of all the ones reviewed and my 8800gts was pretty slow too. Im not worried about the cpu becuase with the price drops i will get a q6600 soon, but I am wondering if this is normal for a 88oogts or if i have a bad one. all the resolutions were on 12x10. thanks.

slashzapper

Distinguished
May 3, 2006
No its not normal for a 8800 gts , i know cause i own it .

Also i can tell you that it is your cpu which is holding you back big time .
Another thing what psu do you have , you need about 30a on the 12 rail .

A P4 at 3gigs is bringing your card down, and 3dMark reacts quite favorably to better cpus as well, so the overall isnt really indicative of your true gpu score (they add the cpu and the gpu for total) Check your gpu scores then compare them to others. And as I said, that cpu will make your GTS look like its lacking

jonj

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2007
i plan on getting a quad soon, but it might not be till mid august. as for the psu i have a 700w ocz.

on a seperate note, i just installed stalker and started playing it. the resolution is fine, but i notice a lag every now and than. when it started to rain i saw these weird triangles of light flickering on the screen.

i just wanted to know if a better processor would fix this.

thank you

cristip60

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2007
Don't get a quad core any time soon, we don't even have full dual core support on all of the application and games out there and you want a quad core, just save your money and get a e6600.