Sign in with
Your question

Corrupt ntoskrnl caused bsod's on boot

Last response: in Storage
August 23, 2007 4:25:40 PM

Okay so im new to your forum not the page itself just the community behind it so i believe iv posted this in the correct section. I may be new to this site but im not a total newb so dont worry about getting a little technical with me, as i am ready to get alittle messy to fix this and any help will be so very grewatly appreciated! That being said iv searched your forums and found a few things that seemed to help but at the moment im at a loss...

See i have two ide drives running currently. One is a WD and the other a seagate barracuda, the Wd being the local disk and the Seagate the new volume. The bad news iv noticed is that im running Xp pro x64 and iv heard how hard it is to find what you need when it comes to fixing it. Now i had this system working just fine a few months ago after much fiddling with jumper settings (something i have yet to completly comprehend). My intention was to have the os on my wd and any other programs while keeping the seagate as virgin as possible so all my media stayed intact.

Problem is i at some point in the past somehow corrupted or removed the file "ntoskrnl.exe" and windows would remind me of that every chance i gave it meaning everytime it booted and then would shutdown saying "windows could not start because the the following file is missing or corrupt: <Windows root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe. Please re-install a copy of the above file".

Now it gets worse from here so stay with me. At the time that this happened i was packing up my stuff for summer break as i was leaving, so i didnt have the time to remove what little media i had on the local disk C to my new volume D and reinstall\repair install windows on the main disk (if that is indeed what i was being asked to do at all?).