Best CFM in a 120mm Fan?

tirefire

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2006
Hey all,

I have a PC with a Cooler Master Centurion 5 case. It came with a 120mm fan already installed to blow air out of the rear grate. However, the fan barely pushes any air at all. My old PC had an 80mm fan that made quite a breeze if you put your hand behind the tower. This one is pathetic. I've tried connecting it to the motherboard as well as a molex connector, and neither one makes it blow very much.

Do any of you own a nice high-CFM 120mm fan you could recommend to me? I could probably solve this problem by investing in 3rd-party heatsinks, but I'd rather buy a $5 fan and put up with the extra noise.

I like the Panasonic Panaflo case fans. The 120mm fans come in 3 different fan speeds and cfm. The fans are thicker than typical fans and the pitch of the fan blades is different than most fans allowing for a higher cfm rate. I never had any problems installing them in mid-tower cases.

Smokedyou911,

I've got four 120mm Panaflo fans rated at 115 cfm in my new rig that I am assembling. I am growing old disgracefully and I'm a little hard of hearing so I don't hear the fan noise like young people do.

Cables are kept to a minimum thanks to a Corsair modular power supply. The cables are tied down and out of the way. I eliminated the hard drive cage in the bottom of the case. The hard drive is mounted directly behind one of the two fans in the front of the case. I have one heck of a wind tunnel effect.

IcY18

Distinguished
May 1, 2006
In a test done over at xtremesystems.org they found the Panaflo and Sharkoon fans to be the best. Sharkoon are harder to find and don't have ultra high output fans like Panaflo does but they are quieter than Panaflo's mid level output cfm ones.

Check out the Sharkoon Silent Eagle 2000.

double_helix

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2007