MY First Time Building!! Hard or not?

chikit

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2005
So, its my first time building a computer myself. I've seen computers get built by other people a few times. But I forget the actual steps, and any side knowledge I should know.

Stuff like electrostatic discharge? I touch the PSU? Or wear gloves.
I heard about this one guy who fried his mobo because he didnt actually screw in the mobo to the case.. so something like it short circuited because the electric current went through the case aswell. How do I prevent that from happening?

I also bought a Enermax Liberty 620W PSU with 22Amps on the Dual 12V rails. It says a combined of 36Amps. Is this enough for a 8800GTS 320MB + Quad 6600? I paid around $130 for it. I think I got ripped off, I've never spent so much on a PSU before.. but I've been hearing that PSU's are pretty important these days.

Here's my build:
Enermax Liberty 620W PSU
Intel C2D Q6600
8800GTS 320 MB
GigaByte GA-P35C-DS3R
2GB PC6400 Kingston RAM
Tuniq Tower 120
WD 74GB Raptor x 2 RAID 0
DVD Writer

So I know some of you are gonna tell me off for the dual raptors in Raid, but I want to feel every ounce of speed from this machine and I thought HDDs are the biggest bottlenecks in systems today. So I thought I'll splurge a little, besides it costs $240 for 2 WD Raptors, which in my opinion was a bargain.

Here is my thinking of how to build a computer step by step.

1. Assemble all the parts correctly into the case, following the manual.
2. Apply thermal paste and CPU Cooler.
3. Boot up, set up RAID. (HOW DO YOU SET UP RAID WITHOUT A FDD?)
4. Install windows.
5. Finished?! Overclock.