Sign in with
Your question

How good is this Acer LCD widescreen?

Last response: in Components
July 22, 2007 7:35:35 AM

Went to my local walmart and I didn't want to buy a monitor online due to high shipping charges. They only has one 20" LCD, which was I figured was the perfect size for me. Any larger and the far sides of the screen would look darkened because I sit only a couple feet away from the screen. 20" is perfect for a widescreen, IMHO.
Anyhow, this 20" was Acer. Did some research beforehand on brands, didn't recall this specific model, but heard some good things about the brand.

It was fairly expensive for a 20" widescreen. $239 without tax. I am a noob at LCD specs, but the main thing I knew to look for was to make sure it was 1680x1050, had a low response time, and good constrast ratio. Was able to spot those things on the box.
Was 1680x1050 (perfect but not too big for my 320mb 8800gts KO to handle vga memory-wise). Response time was 5ms, from what I read that is pretty good, if not really good. And the contrast ratio is 800:1, I also heard that is quite good. Has the dvi input for my vga, which is great because I have a real dvi monitor, not just CRT with dvi adapter.

The reason I'm double checking here is because I couldn't find ANY info on this particular model. Everest says it was manufactured in 2007. The model I'm talking about is AL-2002w SD, TFT. Couldn't even find this product on the Acer web site, newegg, or anywhere where there might be reviews on it. I did find a similar AL-2002 model, but it was different, looked different, specs slightly different, and cost $50 less. I'm wondering though if these cheaper models might be just as good for less $$.