help on choosing Retail or OEM Vista OS!!!

suspenz

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2007
OK you prolly seen me here before posting some odd questions but...im a total noob and my friend is helping me build a comp so what im trying to do is at least know the basics. ok to my questions now...

ok see alot of windows vista os for sale...which one do i get...im building mine comp and one for my nephew(with a friends help but i want to learn how to build one on my own...lol) but i heard i would have to purchase two sets of windows vista os. since microsoft only lets you install into one comp and in order to reuse it again i would have to delete it from the hdd and it would have to be a retail os.??? please help...i just bought a book on how to build a pc.

i see this vista os...sytem builders oem for $111.00 and a retail for $219.00 (both 32bit home premium.) yes i know read the book you say...but i still have alot to read to get there...but this forums help out alot...i get impatient...sorry

im would like any help on to clarify this os thang...thank you!

ps. sorry for any mispelled words and confusing sentence...i typed this really quick.

Solariscs

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2007
They are both the same really, OEM just comes in a little box with no information manual, while the retail one is prettied up and comes with the manual.

Rogue77777

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2007
OEM doesn't come with a manual or come with any support from MS (Microsoft), but do you really get or need any (Support that is). The license key also supposed to be locked to only one motherboard; which make it harder to upgrade your motherboard at a later time (Not impossible, just harder).
Retail comes with a pamplet (not a manual) and you can call for support (one time only).
Either way, when you change your motherboard, you'll need to call MS and tell them your computer crashed and you had to replace to board

kg4icg

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2006