New system build, please help

wrath

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2007
Hello all,

I'm building a computer for the first time, and I had hoped some of you would be able to offer me some aid. As I said, this is my first build, although I've done work inside computers before (installing drives, RAM, etc - nothing too technical). As such, I'm primarily concerned with stability, not absolute cutting-edge performance. I want it to look nice when I play games and run fast when I tell it to, but I don't want to sacrifice stability for an extra handful of FPS. I've been doing research online, but I've seen a lot of conflicting information. Any help you can offer would be appreciated.

The system computer system will be used primarily for gaming and movie-watching, though it will also be used for computer algebra systems (eg Mathematica) on a regular basis, as well as for occasional work in photoshop and with 3D graphics (nothing too serious - I'm a hobbyist, not a professional) I'm looking to get a moderately high end and somewhat future-proof system. My budget is around US$2000-2500 for the computer itself, and another $500 or so for peripherals (namely monitor(s), keyboard, etc).

Unless someone gives a good reason why I shouldn't, I'm almost certainly going to purchase:

Intel Q6600
EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS Superclocked 640MB
COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution Black
Real Power Pro 1000W Power Supply

I've found a great deal on newegg for the case and power supply (~$200 off a $600 pricetag), which is the main reason I'm getting them. Besides, Tom's Hardware gave the case, at least, a positive review.