Can i upgrade the graphics on my laptop?

farmeriain

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2007
I am getting a new laptop but i don't think the graphics card is that good because it is integrated.
The card is a 256mb ATI Radeon Xpress 1150 hypermemory. I have heard a bit about PCI slots and other sort of similar things but im quite new to finding out the workings of computers fully. Would i be able to put a new graphics card into one of the slots (if the laptop has one) and how do i know if the laptop has a PCI (or AGP?) slot?

If its any help below are the system specs for my laptop:

AMD Turion 64 x2 Mobile technology TL58
Windows XP
2048MB 533MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM (2x1024)
160gb Hardrive
256MB ATI Radeon Xpress 1150 Hypermemory DX9
8x DVD=/-RW Drive

Thanks!

OldGoat

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2006
As a general rule: No, the graphics in laptops can not be upgraded. However, given the recent advances with some of the newer high end laptops you may be able to swap out a card. You would be better off getting a laptop with the graphics chip set you want. Typically laptop have embedded graphics to save on weight and power consumption.

You cannot upgrade the graphics on a laptop.
Everything you have heard is specific to desktop or tower PC's. Not laptops. That is why tower and desktop units are so big, you have to have room to put add-in cards into the system.

That's not entirely true. Like Old Goat said, the cards on higher end laptops can be upgraded. The 7950 in my laptop can be upgraded because it uses the MXM module.

farmeriain: The graphics on your laptop are integrated and thus cannot be upgraded. If you want to get a laptop with a better card, ask the manufacturer if it uses an MXM module or the ATI equivalent (I don't remember what it's called). But for right now you are sunk. Sorry.

There is a couple of problems with the MXM technology. The first and most frustrating being that it's extremely difficult to find or even purchase an MXM module.