Sign in with
Your question

Need a power supply for this build

Last response: in Components
July 25, 2007 5:51:28 PM

I am a total computer noob so have no idea what kind of power supply to get for this computer. Also will I need a to get a fan or will the one that comes with the case be fine?

my build : https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/Wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=5347671&WishListTitle=PC+Build

More about : power supply build

July 26, 2007 2:07:30 AM

I looked at your list and have a couple questions/suggestions.

Whats your budget? Are you planning on gaming? Is there any specific reason you picked that monitor? you dont really have to answer me just ask yourself cause thay are relavent to the choices and suggestions I made. If you dont game and wont OC then that power will probably be just fine.

First off make sure that the DS3 is rated for a FSB of 1333. Its not listed as such and you may be getting an older rev. You definately want the DS3 rev3.3 that supports fsb of 1333.

If you game you need a better video card. I suggest a X1950XT or better. If money is an issue, suggestions to save money to follow.

Forget the GSkill and get the Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR800 for $85 after rebate. They both use the exact same D9GMH chips. Saves $45

As for the monitor, why not just get an ACER, Hanns-G, or other monitor with the same specs and save yourself a solid $100. With names like Samsung, Pioneer and the other big names your paying extra for the NAME!! I paid $170 for my 19"wide screen Hanns-G six months ago and it has been flawless. Not a single dead or stuck pixel.

Is there a reason you dont want to use the motherboards onboard nic? It works just fine. Save yourself another $22 and skip the 3com nic.