fender22

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2007
You didn't say alot about what kind of activities you want to do... But if it's gaming... that PSU will not be sufficient, it may be 550W, but It's also a Rosewill... I 100% suggest getting a heartier PSU, especially if you plan on having a nice video card, or OC.. I got places to be at the moment, so I will leave good suggestions to other smart people in the forums. good luck!

EDIT: The Case is great, a tat loud with a beast video card. But great cooling...

potatosandwitch

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2007
So that 450 would be better than the rosewill 550?
I'm not saying this because I don't believe you or anything. Just I'm a noob for PSU's so I want to be sure.

Yup. Fortron is a tier 2 brand (i.e good) while Rosewill is a tier 5 (i.e. run away, don't stop to pack).

I strongly recommend you decide now if you will upgrade the GPU, and to what, and only then pick the PSU. For example the 8800 GTS will work with that Fortron, but it will be rather close to the limits, especially if you add more disks. Maybe a Corsair 520W, I don't know... If you want an 8800 GTX then something like the Corsair or Seasonic 600W PSUs would be OK.

little_scrapper

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
I suggest you go and do your homework in regards to powersupplies and thier importance. Since you were asking about that roswill yea I am going to assume you have no idea how much power you will need. I suggest finding a site that calculates your power requirements and enter your intended rig.