Q6600 system with issues

duhrman

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2007
Hi,

I'm very new to building my own system. I have helped my dad build systems when I was much younger and the technology has changed enough to leave me a bit confused. I have already bought my system and am having problems. Hopefully this is the proper place to post. I am not getting an output to my monitor when I turn on my new computer(monitor just displays checking for a signal). Here are my components:

MSI SLI 650i Platinum P6N Mobo
Q6600 Quad Core CPU
2GB OCZ DDR800 SLI Certified Dual Channel RAM
OCZ 700W nVIDIA SLI CERTIFIED Power Supply
EVGA e-GeForce 7900 GS KO Graphics Card
ATA100 120gb hard drive (my old hd; I have a sata drive on its way)
Sony DVD+- burner

Anyways, I was wondering if there were some quirks to building the system that I'm missing. In the past systems I've helped build, the mobo's had quite a few jumpers with settings that needed to be set properly for the machine to start. I've noticed that my mobo doesn't really have any of these and that most of the setup is done in the BIOS once you get it up and running. Maybe there are some vital jumpers that I didn't notice. Also, I did my best to verify that all of the components I have are compatible with each other but maybe I messed up somewhere. Any help or ideas on debugging techniques would be greatly appreciated. If I had known about this forum earlier, I would have ran all of my ideas for components by you guys first.

thanks,

~Duhrman

duhrman

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2007
By the way, forgot to mention: I did try swapping video cards with no luck. The one I tried was a borrowed BFG 8600 GTS 256MB card. I think this most likely rules out the possibility of it being a video card issue.

Solariscs

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2007
Is your monitor connected to the Card or the motherboard?