RAID Controler and HDD setup q's

Rasta Mon

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2007
I would like to set up a RAID 0 with a separate independent backup drive. Would a controller have that option?

Is it possible to have this setup?
1 Small Fast HDD with just the OS on it
1 Larger Fast HDD with designated software on it, like games,
1 Large HDD for basic storage, pics, music

mike99

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2006
Yes, but that's not RAID. For RAID you buy a matched pair of medium to fast drives. You then setup a RAID 0 of 2x size of drive. You can then setup a primary partition of 50 - 60 Gb for the OS ans an extended partition of the res, which you can set up as 1 or 2 Logical drives for storage.

Mike.

Rasta Mon

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2007
Ok when i posted that i was a RIAD noob. Ive been reading for 2 days, also bought the latest issue of maximumPC. It has a good article about RAID and performance gains. Im now between RAID 5 using 3 raptors and a controler. Or going RAID 0 with 2 raptors using my onboard. The only thing is if i went RAID 0 could i have a separate (probibly external) HDD to backup the RAID 0 data.

Hey Rasta Mon,
It depends on your usage. Are you setting up a server? If so, then a raid 5 might be a good idea. If you are looking to make a good gaming setup I would recommend the raid 0 plus storage drive.

Raid 5 originally seems like a good idea for gaming, since it has the quickest read speeds of all the raids. However, with 3 drives (and the parity spread across all drives), this means more overall ACCESS time, which is bad for gaming. Just think of how long your levels would take to load if you had to wait for the computer to access all 3 drives.

You are going to get the best gaming performance from a raid 0 setup. Raid 0 is a terrible idea for a server, because if one drive fails you lose the whole array. Not only that, but you get half data capacity. If you have 2 500Gb drives, you'll only have 500Gb total drive space in raid 0.