Sign in with
Your question

Looking for the best performance option (HDD).

Last response: in Storage
September 28, 2007 5:31:29 PM

I've got 100$ to spent on something funny for my comp, and since I've never tried running RAID before I figured I would try it out.

I've been looking around a bit to see what I can get and came down to two options.

1) Two times Hitachi DeskStar 7K160 160 GB HDD / 7200 rpm / 8 MB / 8.5 ms / 300 MBps
or
2) Mylex DAC960 RAID Controller and 2 x 18,2 GB IBM SCSI HDD's 10.000 rpm / 68P Ultra 3 / 4MB cache / 5.2 ms (Model DDYS-T18350)

I've never run SCSI before and the more I try to read about how this stuff works the more confused I seem to get. It seems like there is quite a few things to take into consideration, I mean, what good would it do to have some fast HDD's if the controller sucks and can't keep up? The thing is, I can't seem to find any specific/reliable info on this controller.

The first option would cost me around 110$ or so and the second one is from an online auctions which I anticipate will cost me around 50 - 65$. Since I'm interested in the best performance for the money I guess I should go with the SCSI drives.

Really, the reason for my post here is to make sure I'm not doing something stupid if there is a better solution.
Whats your opinion on this?

EDIT: Here is a picture of the SCSI controller along with one of the HDD's.
I'm a bit concerned about there only being one 68pin connector on the controller, won't that cost me some speed if I run RAID on two drives connected on the same cable?

Enlighten me plz.

More about : performance option hdd

September 28, 2007 11:08:14 PM

If I were you I'd just stick with ATA drives. SCSI is a lot more involved and is unlikely to be faster, as SCSI drives have firmware designed for server usage, not desktop usage.