Sign in with
Your question

Trouble Recognizing 2nd SATA Drive

Last response: in Storage
October 11, 2007 2:13:18 PM

Hey what's up everybody. I just got a Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB drive from a guy at work. I work in IT. I have a ASUS Crosshair MB, AMD Athlon X2 6000, 4GB G Skill RAM. I run my OS off of a 36gb Raptor. When i installed this drive i had no issues with the connectors or fit. I booted up the computer and everything acts normal but the drive is not recognized. Please let me know if there is anything i can do to get this running. It is SATA so i figure that it is most likely a BIOS setting or something of that sort. Please let me know and thank you for the effort in advance.
October 11, 2007 8:37:25 PM

Is it seen in the BIOS or in Disk Management under Administrative Tools? Could try running the Hitachi diagnotic/repair software from their website. Possible it either needs formatted or a drive letter
October 12, 2007 2:10:40 PM

No i can't see it anywhere. If you could provide a link that would be great. I believe i need to format the Hitachi because it is brand new.
Related resources
October 12, 2007 2:43:06 PM

jjmcmahon7 said:
No i can't see it anywhere. If you could provide a link that would be great. I believe i need to format the Hitachi because it is brand new.

If it's new, it will likely need formatted. This is he Hitachi download site. Think you'll need the Drive Fitness Test but check all of the Downloads out

http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/download.htm

October 14, 2007 4:06:34 AM

When installing a second SATA drive you must go to Windows Disk Management to initialize the drive. When you open Disk Management the new drive is automaticaly initialized and formated. Here's the click path to Disk Management; Click on, Start>Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Disk Management. :) 
October 14, 2007 1:16:54 PM

scottman said: