Gaming CPU Advise please! (Older school-gaming)

matharmony

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2007
Hey all,

I'm new to the forums and I thought I'd take my question to the pros. I'm an old school tech-freak and I "use" to keep up with all the hype in technology but school consumption and lost in interest due to not having money slowly swept me away from my true passions.

Anyways, that's enough about me, lets talk about my computer :p

Basically... I buily my computer a good 2-3 years ago with an aim for overall use and of course gaming. At the time all the craze was with the AMD 64+ socket 939 processors wtfpwning Intel P4 processors in gaming. I've had poor experiences with AMD in the past back in the K6*2/Duron/Athlon era. Does anyone remember picking up a retail game box and remember reading the system requirements? E.g Intel Pentium 2 500mhz + or AMD Duron/Athlon/K6*2 900mhz+ x.x... Aside from that, ignore the
past statement.

READ FROM HERE IF YOU DON'T WANT TO READ FROM THE TOP :)______________________________________________________________________________ ___________________

My current computer specs are:
Pentium 4 2.66ghz 533fsb socket 478 (Northwood)
ABIT IS7 Mobo
1.5gb DDR Ram - Kingston Valueram (may turn into 2gb when I add another 512mb, and turn dual channel)
ATI x850 pro 256mb AGP (non-flashed to x850xt pe)
160gb Western Digital HD 7200rpm
350W powersupply
Windows XP sp/2