Sign in with
Your question

What are the benefits of SLI 8800GTX?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 13, 2007 3:26:33 PM

If you look at my user signature, you will see everything I run in my latest PC build. I do gaming, so I already know that SLI will help, but what would I actually notice from 2x8800GTX's?

I've done a vast amount of custom building and all kinds of gaming, and I understand that I would have twice the graphics processors, etc etc.....

I'm not a beginner, so please explain to me what I would benefit from, or would it not even be worth doing? You can speak technical to me.

More about : benefits sli 8800gtx

August 13, 2007 3:56:36 PM

I've come to the conclusion that current games wont benefit unless you have 24'' WS and above monitor.
But after reading a few test\reviews on upcoming games, I think running 8800gtx in SLI will be needed for good visual settings.
It all depends on what size monitor you have and what visual settings you desire.
If a year old "Oblivion" maxed out settings can give an 8800gtx a work out,imagine next generation games
August 13, 2007 4:01:19 PM

You get more fps in your games :)  Kind of needed if you want to play on resolutions of 1080p or higher with high settings. I just don't like playing at 30fps occasionally dipping on the low 20s, gotta play on 45~50 or higher :p 

Drawback is that it can be a painful thing to setup if you don't know what you're doing. But since you already have a big *** display... well you need it.

And honestly, way more important than the size of the screen is the resolution, even though big screens (24" and up) are usually made with big native resolutions, you shouldn't really talk in screen size, especially if he doesn't mind getting technical.
Related resources
August 13, 2007 4:24:54 PM

localcpuguy said:
I'm not a beginner, so please explain to me what I would benefit from, or would it not even be worth doing? You can speak technical to me.