i want to reformat. some help please?

guitarxe

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2007
i haven't reformatted in more than two years, and my system is bugging up and performing poorly. about a month ago, my system somehow managed to switch labels on my hardrive so that on startup it couldn't find windows on my primary, which should have been the slave.

now i decided i want to just wipe my drives completely clean (too bad i can't just swipe it with a big magnet like in the movies :D ), and start fresh, but i need some help as to how to go about doing it.

i'm not completely clueless on what to do, and i have some technical knowledge and how to use DOS to go about doing it, but perhaps there is some kind of guide somewhere that takes you through it step by step?

another concern that i have is that i have a big chunk of videos and screenshots as well as some irreplaceable old games that i want to keep, so what should i do? should i copy it to one disk, reformat, then copy it over to the clean disk and reformat the other one?

i'm also considering on buying a new hardrive that can hold some more memory (my current ones hold about 160gb total). can i uninstall windows on my old hardrive, set my new as primary, install windows on it and all the drivers and stuff and just have the others as storage? will this let me not do a reformat at all, or should i reformat the old ones anyway if i want a completely clean system?
maybe i should move what i want onto the new disk and have it as storage, and then reformat the old ones and use one of them for windows?

sprucebr1

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2007
You don't need to worry about DOS. Simply use the windows install CD/DVD to format the system. be sure you know what partition is the the boot partition. Its fairly straight forward.

1) enter setup (BIOS) and make sure your set to boot from DVD-ROM etc.
2) pop in the windows install disk, and when prompted, hit enter.