WD AAKS drives question. Can I trust again?

karm100fists

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2007
Building a new system, I am content with two of this product... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148136

Sorry that I'm not good with html/ezcodes, but it implies two of the " Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Everyone is reccomending WD AAKS drives BUT...

I have RMA'd (with significant loss of data) 3 Western Digital hard drives in my lifetime.

I made a pact to buy from Maxtor and Seagate until it was no longer an option (almost 4 years ago).

Now I see that everyone reccomends WD AAKS as the HDD of choice when I had two perfectly good Seagate Barracuda 7200 500MB 3.0 SATA drives picked out for my new setup.

Can anyone give me a good reason to trust my valuable (comparatively) data to a company that has reamed me good in the past?

RPAaggieDude

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2007
Hard drives are mainly a brand preference issue. Ive owned Seagate, Maxtor, Hitachi, and a Western Digital. The Seagate and Maxtors both went out on me and I lost all my data, so I will not buy from those companies again. Ive had EXCELLENT luck/performance with my Hitachi and Western Digital drives. Out of all those drives, the Seagate was clearly the worst. It lasted for a total of 6 months and I lost all my data. On a side note, my friend who just built a 4000 dollar computer had ordered 3 Seagate 500GB drives and they ALL arrived DOA from newegg, which is another reason why I dont trust Seagate. Also, the WD's tend to perform a little better than most hard drives on the market. However, if you have never had problems with your Seagate stuff, I don't see any reason to switch from them.