Sign in with
Your question

Retail CPU question

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
August 11, 2007 5:48:43 AM

i recently purchased a Q6600 with an EVGA 680i sli A1. I plan on using artic silver 5 and was wondering if on a new retail cpu, do you have to remove a thermal pad or paste or does it come totally plain so you can just apply the thermal grease right away. Need to know if i need to by the remover stuff. Sorry for probably stupid question, this is my first build.

thanks

More about : retail cpu question

August 11, 2007 5:50:43 AM

The heatsink bundled with the processor will have some cheap thermal grease on it, which you can remove with rubbing alcohol and some cotton swabs. After that, you can apply AS5 to it instead.
August 11, 2007 5:56:43 AM

Im not planning on using the stock fan/heatsink and have ordered a Zalman CNPS 9700. Sorry for the confusion, didn't explain that very well. What i meant is that the CPU itself won't have anything already on it right? but the heatsink will be the Zalman
Related resources
August 11, 2007 5:59:24 AM

No, the CPU itself will be completely clean.
August 11, 2007 6:01:30 AM

So then i don't have anything to remove, only add, correct? Also are you supposed to apply the thermal grease to the heatsink base and the cpu or just the cpu? i have heard conflicting answers as most say just the cpu, but some instructions for certain coolers say to put it on both? What do you think?
August 11, 2007 6:10:58 AM

The heatsink might also have that nasty pink thermal tape, it's okay, but you'll be better off ditching it.
a b à CPUs
August 11, 2007 6:18:48 AM

If my memory serves me correct the Zalmans come clean (no tape or pad) with a small tube of compound included in the box which the OP won't need to use if they already have the Arctic 5.
August 11, 2007 6:24:54 AM