Need a "budget gaming" build

elvarsteinn

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2007
Right, first off i know im not being the most original of topicmakers but I'd really like some advice from the adepts here on my upcoming "budget gaming" computer :p

The deal is, im a student and as such dont like to spend much (im talking 800-1000€ total) - but at the same time im a great fan and active player of games and would like my computer to be able to handle all the next-gen games coming out in the next year or two. I also dont fancy the idea of overclocking much as i like my systems to run for years and years (passing on to other family members usually).

I've been doing a handful of research lately and this is what my list looks like at the moment:

INTEL CORE 2 DUO E6550
Im thinking it should be enough for my needs and comes relatively cheap, 6650/6750 are the alternatives but is the difference notable enough for the extra buck?

ASUS P5K SE P35
I want a P35 motherboard. This one does well on charts and is from a solid manufacturer while still having a good price ticket on it.

2048MB OCZ PC2-6400 CL4 KIT XTC Platinum
I'm gonna stick with 32-bit for now so im limited to 3gb. Thought id start off with 2x1gb though and likely add a third one soon enough. OCZ seemed to offer the best value of the top brands.

ASUS EN8600GTS HTDP 256MB 2xDVI/TV
I know its probably skimping it a bit but i feel that anything more expensive is actually overkill for my needs. Am i wrong? Its a huge leap of price to go to the 8800 series and i'd rather take something "second best" and half the price... I wouldn't mind ATI either but i'd really prefer DX10 support, even if im not 100% sure why, jsut a gut feeling :p

3.5" Samsung 320GB SATA HD321KJ 7200U/m 16MB
I dont need more space than that and the speedy ones are just too pricey.

Samsung SH-S183L SATA LightWrite DVD+-RW

Case/PSU: