Suggestion on a new build by a new builder...

chadsxe

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2007
Well, lets just get this out of the way. This is my first build. My goal is to build an all
around great system. I prefer spending the extra dollar for quality over sheading a few dollars
just for the sake of catching a deal. This build will be running XP SP2 for the time being and
I don't need nor want SLI.

// CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/se...u=CP1-DUO-E6850

// Video Card
EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814130072

// Case
Antec P182
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...25&Tpk=P182

// MoBo
My major concern at the moment is buying a mobo that will work with the 1333mhz FSB of my
E6850, except Quad Core for the future updates, and possibly be ready for the Penryn a little
further down the line. Someone recommened me the Asus pK5 Deluxe but I honestly have no
clue if that holds water. I will not be overclocking any time soon but that is not to
say I won't be doing in the futer.

// PSU
Again I am in search of as many opinons as I can get. I am not sure how much power I am looking
for but I am someone recommened a 600W PSU. I really would like the wires to be modular because
of the tight fit that the Antec p182 has.

Maybe something like this?
http://www.endpcnoise.com/cgi-bin/e/std/sk...s_600_watt.html
Nexus 80 Plus Efficiency 600 Watt Silent PSU

// Memeory
Everything I read point to 2gm (2x1gb) duel channel. My concern would be with the question of
is there any advantage to stepping up DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) over DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)?

maybe ?
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820145177

// HD