Crash to blank screen, please help!

jrawlings

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2007
Ok, so I built my computer nearly four years ago and have done a few upgrades along the way. I've been using my current configuration for nearly 2 years and it has been (up till now) rock solid stable:

Intel D875PBZ Mobo
Intel 3.0Ghz processor
4GB Corsair TwinX RAM
ATI Radeon X700Pro (AGP 8x)
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
400W PS

I don't Overclock and I have 1 forward intake fan(120mm), a side panel fan(80mm), and two rear exhaust fans(80mm each) in addition to the fans on the CPU (thermaltake, can't remember which model) and vid card (stock). Heat isn't an issue.

Starting a few weeks ago, my computer would "crash" to a blank screen. During the crash, the monitor LED blinks as if it is getting no signal. Sound will either continue, generally looping or I'll hear a high pitched hum. Fans are on, lights are on, but nobody's home. I'm forced to reboot the computer when this happens.

I've run DXdiag and got no errors. I've checked my RAM and memtest checks out fine. I updated to the latest BIOS, Video Drivers and DirectX (9.0c). Still have the problem. I tried disabling fast writes, increasing the AGP aperture from 64MB to 128MB. Still no luck.

Any ideas? Please help!

I think you mean capacitors, and if so then no, the problem is more the graphic card is on it's last legs or not getting enough power i.e flaky PSU.

jrawlings

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2007
Well, I must say that I'm not such a big fan of ATI if you folks are right. I got the card less than 2 years ago. If the Video Card is dying, is there a way to test for that? Some sort of stress test? I found a CPU/RAM stress test (Prime95) and I ran it for about an hour with no problems or errors. Is there one for video cards?