Gaming rig, need advice.

Epilon

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2007
So I have been looking at building a computer for a long time, and feel that now is the right time to go for it. I have compiled a build after receiving advice from various sites ad forums, and have decided to see if you guys could give me some feedback. I will be using it for gaming. Here are the specs. I also intend to overclock, or try at least.

Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 GZ
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16811233013
I chose this case because it was highly rated, and since this is my first build, I want to run into the least amount of hiccups possible.

ASUS P5K DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard – Retail
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813131182
I had received reviews that this motherboard had good overclocking features, as well as nice features in general. My question with this board is whether or not the onboard audio is good enough? Should I go ahead and grab a sound card, or will the onboard audio suffice?

EVGA 768-P2-N887-AR GeForce 8800Ultra 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16814130093
I chose EVGA because of their lifetime support.

CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 620W Power Supply – Retail
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16817139002
Someone told me this was a quality PSU at a good price. I was never even used to thinking of Corsair as PSU makers, but it seemed like a good choice. Would a 700W be better? Or am I safe with this?

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80562Q6600 – Retail
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16819115017
I decided to go with the Q6600 due to the cheaper price, and its ability to overclock to the Q6700 level.

Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail