Help me with my first build (intel)

zeek987

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2007
Hey, so this is my first build. I have not dealt with upgrading computers since putting in a ATI All-in-wonder 7500 agp card! Would like this new computer to last at least 2-4 years.

I will need lots of help and suggestions on how to improve my build. I will be editing video, gaming, and general use.
I can't afford a 8800GTX at this point, GTS is pretty much out of the question because of the noise (they are loud right?!). So I was thinking a 8600 GT or GTS that is passively cooled. Basically, gaming is simply an after thought to being able to edit and encode video. I figured since a video editing machine requires so much performance, gaming would be nice if I can afford it, so hopefully either NVidia or ATI will come out with cheaper better, less noisy, less power hungery cards soon. I will be using a Dell 24inch ws (1920x1200) monitor to edit video. I'd love to game on it, but a GTX is too pricey right now for me. So I may use an old Dell 17inch ultrasharp (1280x1024) along with the 8600GT or GTS to game on (couldn't hurt to have more workspace with the videos anyhow).
I already have an Intel Q6600 G0. But I need to buy EVERYTHING else!!!

My thoughts so far:

Use my Q6600 G0
Reuse current mouse/keyboard for now
I have a IDE DVD Burner, but would like a SATA one as well as primary drive (suggestions?)

Case:
COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel, SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail = 50
I like the look, gets great reviews. Good enough air flow? Low noise level?

MOBO:
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail = 150