New watercooling idea..need some help.

Hey guys, Im new here to the forum! I was looking for some help on water cooling my quad q6600 and my 8800 Gts..I have noticed air cooling just isnt doing the job anymore...:/ So i think i am gonna go bigger and better with water! Yes, It is my first time watercooling, but I want to start out with a very good system.. I have been bulding pcs and selling them for about 3 years so I do know what im doing.

I am not sure if a kit is what im looking for, or a custom made. I do want to skip the junk and go straight to one that will last me some good years. ;)

Thanks alot for your help!
~Josh
23 answers Last reply
More about watercooling idea need help
  1. Well, siince you seem to be committed to diving into watercooling I suppose there are a few questions that you need to answer that can influence what equipment you buy and how you may set up your cooling loop.

First, it might help to determine what kind of budget you have for this type of project. The more high-end air cooling methods can do just as well as the cheaper watercooling kits. Of course, you will find out that, ultimately, Do-It-Yourself, is going to be the way to go if you do stick to this type of cooling. Kits are nice for initially getting into this (and some of them are actually very good). But, you'll develop a philosophy all your own and, eventually, a likeness for specific products (most of which will be made by differrent companies).

You need to establish your intentions for o'clocking: Do you plan on o'clocking and if so, what? Alot of people might say that because they plan on o'clocking that means they have to cool every component involved with a waterblock that just isn't so. However, it may necessitate o'clocking more than just, say, the CPU or GPU. I noticed that you have an EVGA 680i motherboard - they are known to run their NB very hot if o'clocked heavily. Also, do you run SLI?