Sign in with
Your question

first time builder..anything i should chage before ordering

Last response: in Systems
August 16, 2007 3:05:29 AM

hi i am a first time builder building a pc for my wife and i.
Primary uses for it will be animation,image editing, digital art/painting etc and gaming.
After reading reviews and checking prices i have narrowed it down to

Case

i am currently confused about choosing the case
i like the Antec Nine hundered ($90.00 after rebates at newegg)
and Lian-Li PC7B plus II computer case($99.00 at newegg)

i heard that the antec case has come problems with bigger gfx cards and problems with the power supply wires not reaching certain places??..

Additional Cooling
?? i dont know if i even need any( i do plan to overclock and summers in alabama are very hot so i dont know if i will need any extra cooling and what kind. what i do know is that i want to stick to air cooling for now)

Processor

intel core 2 duo E6750 $211.90 at newegg

Motherboard

i have narrowed the motherboards down to
(in order of prefrence)
MSI P35 Platinum Revision 1.1
GA-P35C-DS3R
Gigabyte P35T-DQ6
Asus P5k Premium
Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6

Gfx card

nvidia 8800gts

i think a 750 w psu would be sufficient for me any recommendations
also what kind of ram should i get between 50-150$

thanks
August 16, 2007 3:29:19 AM

i have decided on this ram finally
Patriot eXtreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model PDC22G6400LLK - Retail (61.49 after rebate at newegg)
August 16, 2007 5:38:27 AM

Assuming you're not super budget-constricted...

PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

- PC P&C is known for using very high quality components. Also, 49A on the 12v rail should provide plenty of stable power for an overclocked CPU and GPU.