Network Storage Solution For 25 User Office

WrongSizeGlass

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2007
I work in a small office of 25 users. We are replacing our Win2000 server with Win2003 next month. I'd like to split the workload between the new server and a NAS solution. We currently use about 100GB worth of disk space for files on the network, access databases, etc (but we're adding a few GB per month). I'd like to start with 500GB - 1TB of storage and am considering RAID as well.

I don't know if a separate file server PC would be a better solution than a dedicated NAS device. If a PC is the better route, what OS would provide the best performance while remaining compatible with Active Directory? Since I'm a 'one man show' I'd like a solution that requires minimal post installation administration. I have plenty of Win & Mac experience and some Linux exposure so I am not opposed to a Linux solution.

My budget for this is roughly $1,000.

Thanks,
James

Joe_The_Dragon

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2006
For much less than $1,000, you can build
your own file server with an ASUS P5B-VM DO, or
comparable mATX motherboard with integrated graphics,
and start out with a RAID using 2 x WD7500AYYS "RE2"
wired to the Intel Matrix Storage Manager ports.

A Celeron 440 is more than enough power for
routine file serving, and dual-core Intel CPUs
are only a few dollars more.
/
Do not use software raid and useing it on a low end cpu will make it even slower.

you can get a nice amd dual core for same price as the Celeron 440.

as well as a nforce board with dual gig-e tcp / ip off load and teaming.

this board has 2 x16 slots set it to x8 x8 mode.
you just need a low end video card even a pci one will work and pci-e raid card.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138059

a AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ is $64 the 3800 x2 is $62.99 and they will blow the Celeron 440 that costs more away.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103774

WrongSizeGlass

Distinguished