Is Maxtor One Touch 4 Mini good for household?

danmarhk

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2007
I am a beginner.
My laptop is just using the CPU Celeron M430, but is really good enough for me.
I don't need to upgrade my laptop at the moment. However, its harddrive is running out of capacity.
So, I decide to buy an external harddrive.
I have heard of Maxtor One Touch 4 Mini is good as it comes together with a good backup software.
Will it be better to buy an ordinary one? If so, which manufacturer do you prefer?

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006
I prefer Seagate, who now owns Maxtor. Right before they were bought out their drives weren't particularly that good. Don't know if Seagate provides backup software, if not and you want it with the drive, my 2nd choice would be Western Digital. There's a program called Goodsync that's $20 and works really well and very easy to setup if youfind a drive you want but doesn't have backup software
goodsync.com

Maxtors are crap, i dunno how people can trust them for backing up data.

danmarhk

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2007
Thank g-paw for the suggestion.

Seagate offers several series named FreeAgent.
Are they reliable?
My prior concern is the stability.

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006
I've found Seagate drives to be very reliable, in fact I'm only using Seagates at this time. I put together my own external drive using Seagate but a friend of mine bought an external Seagate and it's working fine. If you want to put it together yourself this is a nice case. The advantage of putting it together yourself is that you can pick out the drive you want, if you ever run into a recognition problem easy enough to install the drive internally to fix it, and if in the future you ever want a larger drive, just buy the drive and install it in the case. Putting one together takes 10 to 15 minutes.

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16817113026

danmarhk

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2007
You are so nice, g-paw ;)