Any help with crashing appreciated!

Newbcw

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2007
I will start by letting you all know I'm a total newb with not a lot of expertise in computers. Saying that, I built my first system about 4 months ago and everything went great until recently. A few days ago, I started crashing while playing BF2. Sometimes I'll crash to the desktop and get errors, and other times I get the BSOD. I never had any problems in the past months, and didn't install anything new recently. I did however unistall some things and think that may be the root of my problems. I've unistalled/reinstalled the game, tried system resore, ran a virus scan, and it still the problem persists. The odd thing (to me, that is) is that I never seem to get the same error or "STOP" message twice. Several of the errors do make reference to "memory" though. I'm starting to think about doing a clean install of Windows, but wondered if anyone had other suggestions before I try that. Aslo, since the problems have started, but not until after, I updated my video and audio card drivers... still no improvement. I've considered downloading and running Memtest first too. What would "normal" results look like w/ Memtest? I might add too that all hardware is operating at factory specs/no overclock. Thanks for any help offered.

little_scrapper

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
I would start with memtest since you mentioned that you seem to be getting some sort of memory errors. Make a memtest86 boot cd and run the test. Google for instructions, its simple.