Sign in with
Your question

New mainboard - Advice please

Last response: in Overclocking
October 16, 2007 7:58:19 AM

Hi all. I'm currently swapping pieces of my system out having recently purchased one of the glorious g0 batch of Q6600 CPU's.

At present, everything lives in the DFI Infinity 975X/G hotel, but i'm seeing a lot of good reviews for Asus and Gigabyte boards.

With the current range available and with overclocking in mind, what would you guys buy? I'd prefer to stick to Crossfire as I have an X1950XTX and X1950 Master-card and as i'm not a bleeding edge kinda guy, P35 seems to be the best option for me at the moment. I also have the Swiftech H20 Apex Ultra+ kit with an extra single radiator and YS-Tech 120mm Fan (like a friggin turbine engine cooler 125cfm woot) which i will be using on this board and kit.

Any help here is greatfully received.

Insomnai

More about : mainboard advice

October 16, 2007 11:24:16 AM

I've seen the Gigabyte GA_P35_DS4 and the Asus P5K Premium WI-FI/AP boards which look pretty good spec wise.

Any more light on this would be great.
a c 135 V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
October 16, 2007 11:42:54 AM

Instead P5K-PREMIUM , look for P5K-E , but remember something , 975x chipset support CrossFire @ 8x mode , but P35 boards support crossfire @ 16x4x mode , (With the exception of ASUS BLITZ Formula and ASUS BLITZ Extreme)
Related resources
October 16, 2007 1:18:58 PM

Thanks for the input there! Is there a reason to leave out the p5k premium board and go for the p5k-e? I've read that some people are having problems with that particular board and didn't want to get caught short...

Thanks again

Insomnai
October 16, 2007 2:13:03 PM

Well thank you very much Maziar, much appreciated buddy!

I took a look at the photo's and they do seem almost identical.

Ok, another question for you since you were kind enough to point it out.

Is crossfire not as good when running one card at 16x and one card at 4x?