2 Hard Drive Questions

cok3r

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2007
So I just recieved the following Hard drives:

150 gig Sata1 Raptor, Seagate Sata2 500gig. I Installed XP PRO to the raptor, and formatted the 500gig with the xp Disk Management.

This is my first time owning 2 Hard Drives in one computer, and have the following questions:

1. How do spyware, antivirus sweeps work when you have 2 hard drives? Do I need special programs to do so?

2. Is there a performance hit and or gain if I run games on the 500gig, as opposed to the raptor with the OS installed?

3. What programs / Files would you put on the Raptor, and the Seagate?

4. What hard drive should I put my swap file to?

5. What kind of games / programs would benifit from bieng run off of the raptor?

All I can think of for now, any other FYI info / Tips would be much appreciated!!!!!

Thank Ahead!

-Chris Coker

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006
The best way to do it is to put your OS and all programs on the Raptor and use the 2nd drive for storage, i.e., keep all your data files on the second drive. Your antivirus program will recognize the 2nd drive and will protect it. When you do a virus scan make sure the 2nd drive is included, which it should be by default. You won't get any performance boost installing programs on the 2nd drive and if you have to reinstall Windows, you'll have to reinstall all the programs. Make sure you set your defaults folders to the 2nd hdd, i.e., not to Documents Settings on the C drive, which is generally the default folder. Generally when you install a program it will let you say where you want to store stuff. Other programs let you designate where to save files while you're using them.

smelly_feet

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2006
1. Windows install + swap file (windows default swap) + programs files (system files only) on the raptor. If you have enough memory then the swap shouldnt matter much anyways.